The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Hobbit-An-Unexpected-Journey-The-poster

I couldn’t resist posting my review of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. Let me know what you guys thought of the film as well. My review can be found below:

Last night, I attended the midnight screening of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey in IMAX 3D. Wow, it was an absolutely spectacular movie and it blew my expectations away! What a wonderful adaptation of Part One of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. Although the style sort of felt different from the previous Lord of the Rings films, the magic and presentation of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey does not disappoint. I loved the link they created with The Fellowship of the Ring with this film with Ian Holm and Elijah Wood. The acting was very good and the casting was spot on for all roles. I couldn’t think of anyone better as young Bilbo Baggins than Martin Freeman. It was great seeing Ian McKellen as Gandalf again as well as Christopher Lee as Saruman, Ian Holm as Old Bilbo Baggins, Elijah Wood as Frodo Baggins, Hugo Weaving as Elrond, Cate Blanchett as Galadriel, and Andy Serkis as Gollum. Peter Jackson did an excellent job of directing a film on such a large scale again and the cinematography was beautiful. Great job and congratulations to the cast and crew. Definitely one of the best adaptations I have seen from book to film. I cannot wait to see the other two films of The Hobbit. Middle-Earth is in good hands.

THE-HOBBIT-AN-UNEXPECTED-JOURNEY-Poster

-John

Leave a Reply

